Skip to content

Walkies Stage 2

August 6, 2010

We thought that our hooparents had given up on us and they weren’t going to put us into our jacket/harnesses again… but they made another attempt…

Hooma put my jacket on first…

To begin with I thought that my legs had stopped working again and I cuddled up to hoopa… but once hooma distracted me with a toy I realised there was nothing wrong with my legs.  I quite happily ran around, occasionally lying down so that I could make my hooparents laugh.

The big step forward was Noodles attitude to the jacket.  On the last attempt my dear brother flipped around on the floor and the jacket was quickly taken off.  This time, hooma used treats to distract Noodles and he actually walked around in it…

He was unsure and his legs stopped working every now and then… but he was almost as calm as me which means, according to hooma, that we have moved to stage 2… I wonder what happens in stage 3?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 13:47

    We got our Bengals & Savannah used to harnesses by putting them on a few minutes a day and gradually increasing the time. Then we added the leash, let them run around the house, same thing a few minutes a day & increasing. We got a toy, like the feather wand, used it to entice them to move with the leash on. They got pretty good at it.
    Unfortunately, they got spooked outside. I only use the harnesses for control when we have them loose in our motorhome.
    My cats are little houdini’s and wiggle out of any jacket or harness when they are scared. I didn’t work them outside until they were about 8 or 9 months old. My boy almost jumped over the wall where big dogs were barking and would have torn him up. Not a good experience for me. I hope you have much better luck with yours. Your cats are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

